Saturday, February 7, 2015

The American's Creed

The American's Creed, written by William Tyler Page in 1917 as an entry into a patriotic contest to create a concise, but complete statement, of American political faith. Page's entry won, and was approved as a resolution of the United States House of Representatives on April 3, 1918.

The American's Creed is made up of individual lines from America's founding documents, and speeches by various statesmen. 

The American's Creed

I believe in
     the United States of America as a  (1)
     government of the people, by the people, for the people;  (2)
     whose just powers are derived from the consent of the governed;  (3)
     a democracy in a republic;  (4)
     a sovereign Nation of many sovereign States;  (5)
     a perfect union, one and inseparable;  (6)
     established upon those principles of freedom, equality, justice, and humanity for which
         American patriots sacrificed their lives and fortunes. (7)

I therefore believe it is my duty to my country
     to love it;  (8)
     to support its Constitution;  (9)
     to obey its laws;  (10)
     to respect its flag, and  (11)
     to defend it against all enemies.  (12)

Where Each Line Comes From:

(1) Closing words to the Preamble of the Constitution
(2) Lincoln's Gettysburg Address
(3) Declaration of Independence
(4) William Tyler Page
(5) Speech by Daniel Webster
(6) Preamble of the Constitution
(7) Adapted from closing words of Declaration of Independence
(8) Speech by John Hancock
(9) United States Oath of Allegiance
(10) Washington's Farewell Address
(11) War Department Circular from April 14, 1917
(12) Oath of Allegiance